Picture Walking: Learning to See With Hale

I’m hoping it will become a habit. I have started to go camera walking, with Hale aboard. One Baby Bjorn, one Canon 5D and a loose agenda of neighborhood walking. Looking to see what I see. I’m wondering if having Hale True with me is affecting what I’m seeing, how I’m seeing it.

I talk to my son a lot as we walk, even when he’s sleeping. (I want him to know my voice really well.) For picturing things, I guess I am looking in particular at stuff I make note of to Hale. But what am I looking at? I dunno: signs of who we are. Mundane, funny, rich, sad, tacky, smart, accidental, on purpose expressions.

The ways people tell you who they are by how they keep their stuff arranged around them. Casual anthropology, taken in through the eyeballs.

t.gif

Leave a Reply

